I’m always thinking of cool things I want to learn how to do: play the guitar, spend a month in France, get my PhD. I’ve done some damn cool things in my life and I’ve accomplished a lot. I’m proud of where I’ve been but I’m also damn proud of how I got to those places. I’m not talking necessarily physical places but experiences and life-changers.

So, in an effort to practice what I preach, I’m going to declare what I want to accomplish over the next few months. I’ve found that declaring to the world (or the few people who stumble upon this site) what I plan to do keeps me accountable and on track. Now, that’s not to say that I may declare to learn how to play the tuba, realize that I hate the tuba, and abandon it is a failure. I think that attempting to tackle something and realizing that it is not something you like is a bigger success than declaring to do something, realize you hate, but doing it because you said you would.

One of my goals with this site to provide a personal insight into my life and how I live it. As a single mother and a woman, I am among a group of people who society believes to be disadvantaged. I’ve proven many stereotypes wrong and surprised even myself at times. I’m not here to state how great I am, rather, to acknowledge that no matter your situation, if you really want something, it can be done – no matter how big or small.

I’ve spent hours over the course of years researching people who have done remarkable things such as getting a PhD at a foreign university as well as ordinary tasks, such as learning to play the guitar. What I found is that there are a lot of people on the internet telling their story or selling us products telling us that they’ve done something and they’ll show us how. But what is lacking in many of these stories are the basic steps. They’ve failed to document the minutiae of why they did something, how they did it, and why they continued on a path.

The little things leading up to a big accomplishment are so important. We need these documented to help other people get inspired, break down big goals into smaller ones, and find success in the end result but even more so, the fun of all the little things they did and experienced to get to that end.

I plan to map out 5 big things I want to do by the end of this year in an attempt to make the seemingly unreachable a reality for people who dream big but are dejected and never try. A person’s situation in life should never be a barrier to big dreams. And big dreams are nothing without a concerted effort to make them reality.

